DIY: Senegalese Twist

9 Jul

I mentioned before on this blog  that I learned to senegalese twist last year. It’s my go to style whenever I have time to do it. I can wear my twist for 1-3 months depending on how well I care for them. My hair grows like crazy when I wear these twist. There are a lot of videos on youtube to teach you how to DIY. This style cost $90-$150 in the salon. It cost me $20-$25 (cost of hair, 11 packs) to do it myself. 🙂 I always wash and deep condition my hair before I install my twist. I use a leave on conditioner and oil my scalp.

before…. I used Rast Afri braiding hair. It was at my local beauty supply. Color 1 (11 packs) *(not the actual color below) and after….. This is my 3rd time doing these twist myself. I like!

***How I learned (https://hairshegoesagain.wordpress.com/2012/04/15/how-i-learned-to-senegalese-twist/)

4 Responses to “DIY: Senegalese Twist”

  1. Ariana December 20, 2012 at 11:40 pm #

    Hi! Thanks for posting this. I’m looking to get Senegalese twists and want to learn to do it myself. I’m about 3 months natural now, 1 year transition. Do you blow dry your air straight, or could I do it with my natural curls? Is it hard to do, compared to other forms of braiding? Thanks again!

    • HairSheGoesAgain December 29, 2012 at 8:07 am #

      Hi, thanks for reading.
      I blow dry my hair before I do my senegalese twist. I have never tried on wet or air dried hair. The video that I learned from is below. It was fairly easy to catch on. Best wishes!!!

      (https://hairshegoesagain.wordpress.com/2012/04/15/how-i-learned-to-senegalese-twist/)

      • Quia Morris May 29, 2013 at 3:59 am #

        What is the blonde color you used in your Senegalese twists? It is soooo pretty. I will be getting my hair in twists and I’m about the same skin tone as you. I can’t find very many pictures of honey Senegalese twists and I don’t want to look crazy. lol

      • HairSheGoesAgain May 29, 2013 at 4:15 am #

        Hi Quia, Thank you. I’m sorry I don’t remember the color. I just grabbed a blonde pack (not the ones that look orange). Good luck!

Leave a Reply

